Wednesday 19th June 2024

Subscribe to the
AcSEED mailing list

This is how we share information and good practices relating to mental health and wellbeing support in schools and colleges

What's New

NEWS: Michael Syddall Accreditation

14th May 2024

Michael Syddall CofE (Aided) Primary School in Richmond, North Yorkshire receive AcSEED Award

NEWS: Sherborne House Accreditation

16th January 2024

Sherborne House School in Chandlers Ford, Hampshire receive AcSEED Award

NEWS: The AcSEED Newsletter

28th July 2022

AcSEED Newsletter for July 2022

NEWS: UK Government blog

21st July 2022

What we are doing to improve the mental health of children and young people

NEWS: AcSEED at MHW Show 2022

11th May 2022

AcSEED were a presenter and exhibitor at the Mental Health and Wellbeing show in Cardiff on 10th May 2022

NEWS: Wistaston Accreditation

25th April 2022

Wistaston Church Lane Academy in Crewe, Cheshire receive AcSEED Award

NEWS: Gorse Hall Accreditation

7th April 2022

Gorse Hall Primary and Nursery School in Stalybridge, Cheshire receive AcSEED Award

NEWS: Crosby High Accreditation

7th April 2022

Crosby High School in Crosby, Merseyside receive AcSEED Award

NEWS: St Olave's Accreditation

1st April 2022

St Olave's Grammer School in Orpington, Kent receive AcSEED Award

NEWS: St Paul's Accreditation

19th August 2021

St Paul's Church of England Primary School in Stalybridge, Cheshire receive AcSEED Award

NEWS: The AcSEED Newsletter

14th December 2020

AcSEED Newsletter for December 2020

NEWS: On-line Wellbeing Support

11th December 2020

Kooth: An on-line Mental Health Support Platform

NEWS: Mental Health in Schools Conference

11th November 2020

Report from the Westminster Insight conference on Mental Health and Wellbeing in Schools

NEWS: Fairfield Road Accreditation

20th October 2020

Fairfield Road Primary School receive AcSEED Award

NEWS: Newport Girls' get AcSEED Award

31st August 2020

Congratulations to Newport Girls' High School in Shropshire ...

NEWS: First AcSEED Wellbeing Centre

25th June 2019

Trinity School and College opens the first AcSEED Wellbeing Centre

AcSEED Leadership Team

Charlotte Gatherer

Charlotte Gatherer


Charlotte is the creator and founder of The AcSEED Initiative. Having discovered that her school had litte formal support for students suffering with emotional and/or mental health difficulties, her investigation of other schools indicated wide variability in the scope and quality of mental health and wellbeing support. Through her volunteering work with numerous mental health charities she discoved that the lack of high quality wellbeing support in schools and colleges was adversely affecting many young people across the UK, and she was determined to improve the situation for both current and future students.

Recognising that young people spend a significant proportion of their time at school, and that many consider it as a safe space, she identified this as a good environment for building strong emotional health and resilience. With dependable support provisions in school there would also be an increased likelihood of young people asking for help sooner thus enabling the opportunity for early intervention to prevent mental health problems from escalating.

Charlotte has an honours degree in psychology from The Open University, has volunteering experience with numerous mental health charities, and has had professional roles in mental health care most recently as an assistant psychologist.

Nick Gatherer

Nick Gatherer

Chief Executive, and Director of Operations

Nick has been Chief Executive and Director of Operations for The AcSEED Initiative since 2014. He served for 8 years as a governor for a large comprehensive school in Hampshire, and has worked with a wide range of schools, colleges, and health organisations on frameworks for mental health and wellbeing support.

Through his professional career he has extensive experience in building teams, developing strategy, and managing budgets.

Nick has a Masters degree in Microelectronics from Brunel University, and more than 35 years experience working in semiconductor design.